My Gamification Statement of Accomplishment from Coursera

I got it! I received my Gamification Statement of Accomplishment from Coursera on October 22, 2012. It was supposed to get to us by e-mail, but I kept waiting, trying to assume that it will happen, even if the system is again down for a while… but I did not get the e-mail with the link… therefore I went to the facebook wall of the Gamification group and looked for a link there. And of course there it was, a link where all diligent and technically equipped people could view their result and the Statement itself. At this point I added the new info to my LinkedIn profile. (Unfortunately, the certificate can not be shared via LinkedIn and this might be a problem for people who need to show it on the original Coursera website.*) After just trying the platform I ended up with a new specialty. Nice! Thank you Coursera team, thank you professor Werbach, and thank you University of Pennsylvania leaders! *Note: In late 2013 Coursera started a partnership with LinkedIn, and now you can share your Coursera certificate via LinkedIn with the Coursera logo if you like.

One thing I would recommend the Coursera team is to carefully select the group managers on Facebook and on LinkedIn. Instead of random, outside people with unidentified professional backgrounds and motivations, I would suggest: select people with an understanding of your social entrepreneurship and online higher educational goals. Why? Because while there were many valuable comments and posts, in our group the group creator and manager was often biased toward superficial, weightless comments, while attempted to moderate away meaningful and professionally valid arguments regarding the Coursera experience and different professors. This particular person could not differentiate between constructive and comparative criticism on an intellectual level and bullying against members and professors on a completely visceral level.

One thing I forgot is that while I do not get any notification e-mails from facebook, because I minimized e-mail usage years ago, many people have no clue how to change their settings and get annoyed by their own lack of ability to normalize facebook e-mail and notification streams, plus these people will be frustrated by their own attention deficit and will take it out on you. I strongly support open educational platforms, but remember that there are enormous cultural and social differences in such groups. Be mindful of this, and be careful when you post to Coursera group walls.

If you have not received your Statement via e-mail (assuming that you were among the 8280 students, approximately 10% of all registered people for this course, with an overall result over 70%), go to your Coursera profile (not the course page, not even your personal profile, but rather your profile layer where all “Your Courses” are listed), and in the drop down menu under your name in the upper right corner find and click “Course Records“. Not the ideal placement for the records… For those who think that the 10% successful completion rate was low, just think again! It would take many many years for Professor Werbach to teach people in such high numbers in person so successfully. So, thousands of people with a Statement of Accomplishment is true success within 2 months all over the world! I encourage you to take this course next year.

And if you made it all the way to the end of this post, let me tell you this is not my most interesting Coursera blog post, so please, do yourself a favor and look for much more interesting entries in the right column. That is, if you are interested in Coursera, MOOCs and online learning in general.

Comments
9 Responses to “My Gamification Statement of Accomplishment from Coursera”
  1. Hi Regina, Thanks for sharing your experiences of the Gamification course. I’m trying to gather information about the ways different MOOCs are assessed, and am keen to find out more about the Gamification course. Did it use multiple choice questions / problem sets / peer assessments, or a combination of these? Thanks🙂

  2. Hi Regina,

    I’m currently attending the 2014 offering of the course, and I’ve started a thread to discuss participation on Forums and how it affects in students’ engagement and completion rates (*)

    Do you still have access to the 2012 course Forums?. If so, would you mind posting the number of threads and the number of posted/comments shown in the Forum Reputations page? The link to this page can be found at the bottom of the main Forums’ –and also each Sub-forum’s– page (See top forum posters)

    To get those figures, just select the whole chart, copy and paste it in a spreadsheet, and add the amounts in the thread and posts/comments columns. It won’t take more than 2 minutes, I promise ; )

    I’ve found that there were nearly a total of 20,000 posts, but what I would need are the figures included in the page mentioned above.

    I also found katylucyjordan’s site, which is great! –I see she left a comment here too.

    Once I have those figures, I’ll share with you the results comparing all the editions up to now.

    Thank you so much in advance and congrats on your blog!
    José Carlos

    (*) I’ve always thought that there was a clear correlation, but now we have evidence: https://ed.stanford.edu/news/plethora-data-helps-lytics-lab-analyze-moocs
    There you can read this:
    “For example, in all three computer science courses they analyzed, they found a high correlation between “completing learners” and participation on forum pages; the more students interacted with others on the forum page, the better they learned.”

    • Regina says:

      Hi José! I went and looked but unfortunately only got an error message on the forum page of the first gamification course.

      • Thank you so much for trying!

        I know that there’s a reason why students can’t access to –most– courses’ Discussion Forums a few months after the course ends, but I think that all those –very interesting and didactic– interactions should remain for students as part of their learning experience.

        I was hoping that the 2012 Gamification Forums weren’t closed yet, but I guess that I’ll have to find another way to get those figures. Maybe someone just saved that info, who knows?

        Thank you again, Regina ; )

      • Regina says:

        You are most welcome. I am sorry I could not find what you were looking for. Perhaps simply ask the Coursera team.🙂

      • That was my plan B, hehe. I just wanted to find them without having to ask directly to Coursera –I also opened a debate on LinkedIn but haven’t got a reply yet.

        Thanks for your suggestion🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] – Used a combination of MCQs and peer graded essays […]



Tell me what you think!

